Chemical Physics Laboratory

You may have noticed that we are changing the name of the lab a bit, mostly because over the years we have had folk who do such messy things as nanotechnology, materials science, and (shudder) ion scattering, rather than using clean and wholesome lasers.  We will see if any of them read this page when I get their complaints.

 If you are or know the whereabouts of any of these suspects please drop us an Email at jhalpern@howard.edu We have tried to be complete, but the lab has been around since 1974 when Bill Jackson came from NASA/Goddard and we do have a mild case of Alzheimers. We are also looking for pictures, e-mail addresses and  web pages of ex-group members.  (I also know that I have missed some folk.  Again, apologies, and please let me know where you are so I can add your name to the list).

THIS PAGE IS SERIOUSLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION. NO GUARANTEES.

 Name Here as From: To Now At: Position EMail/Web Page
Faculty




Josh Halpern Professor 1977- Howard Professor jhalpern@howard.edu
Helen DeClercq Assistant Professor 1999- Howard Assistant Professor hdeclercq@howard.edu
Tito Huber Research Professor 1992-
Howard Research Professor
thuber@howard.edu
Tanya Titarchuk Lecturer 1993- Howard Lecturer ttitarchuk@howard.edu
Hideo Okabe Research Professor 1985- Retired An appreciation by Jim McNesby hokabe@howard.edu
Joan Frye Associate Profesor 1990-1997 NSF Prog. Mgr. jfrye@nist.gov
William M. Jackson Professor 1974-1985 UC Davis/Emeritus Professor wmjackson@ucdavis.edu






Research Associates



 
 & Visitors




MaoQi He Research Assoc. 1993- Howard Research Assoc. maoqi@cldc.howard.edu
Kanekazu Seki Research Assoc. 1992-1994 Summer 98 Yokohama U. Assoc. Prof. kseki01@ynu.ac.jp
S. Zhu Research Assoc.



George Miller
Res.Assoc. Prof,. Ph.D. 1979 1985-1987 1975-1979 Claflin University
Presidential Professor of Chemistry\
Provost
gmiller@claflin.edu
Richang Lu Research Assoc. 1983-1985  Dalian Institute/Retired Professor
rlu@nist.gov
Jiling Bai Research Assoc.
 Dalian Institute/Retired  Professor
Xiaoxiang Xie Research Assoc.


szcbgid@public.szptt.net.cn
Ian McLaren Research Assoc.  1983-86;  McLaren Research  Proprietor imclaren@california.com
Jeff Russell Research Assoc.  1983-85   Physical Sciences Inc Principal Scientist

David Zakheim Research Assoc.


 
Xiao Tang Research Assoc.
NIST Group Leader
xiao.tang@nist.gov
Paul Butterworth
Research Associate

SAIC/NASA GSFC
Senior Support Scientist
paul @ map.gsfc.nasa.gov
Ted Towns Research Assoc.



Collins Conley Research Assoc.



Chung-San Lin Research Assoc.  1976-1979  NRL
lin@rira.nrl.navy.mil






Staff





Yolanda Williams Admin. Asst.


roleyo9@pdg.net






Graduate Students





Barry Trotter
Grad. Student
2004-



Tricia Silverton Grad. Student 2004-


John Batts Grad. Student 1998- Howard  
Katina Patrick Ph.D. 2002
1996-2002 Norfolk State
Assistant Professor
khp@nsu.edu
DaNa Carlis
M.S. 2002
Grad. Student
2000-2002
2003 - 2006
Nat. Weather Service
w. Vernon Morris, PhD
Meteorologist, National Weather Service
dcarlis@hotmail.com
Indira Minus M.S. 1997 1995-1997 MD

travis.d@grouper.batelnet.bs
Wayne Bather Ph.D. 1997 1993-1997 Texas Instruments Prod. Engr.
Xiangquin Xu M.S. (EE)



Yuhui Huang Ph.D. 1993 1989-1993      
Sam Barts Ph.D. 1991   1985-1991 Patent Office Examiner
Joko Quaye Grad. Student




Rahimi Rahmatollah M.S. 1989

 Ph.D. with P. Hambright


Mohammed K. Babaki Ph.D.



Elijah Pugh Ph.D. 1989
Wallace Community College Selma Instructor epugh@wccs.edu
Albert Paul Ph.D. 1987
NIST Scientist albert.paul@nist.gov
Nahid Sayeh Ph.D. 1986



Yihan Bao Grad Student
Ph.D. UC Davis
1984-85; Varian
 ybao@varian.com
James Barnes
M.S.

NASA/Langely
Deceased 2004

Thomas Rush M.S. 1983
1982-85; Avia

Victor McCrary Ph.D. 1986

JHU-APL Business Area Executive
Darryl Ballard M.S. 1986

 EPA   ballard.darryl@epa.gov
Carl Bonner M.S.  1982-85  Norfolk State Associate Professor
Associate Director
Center for Materials Research
cbonner@vger.nsu.edu
Larry Petway
Ph.D. 1984

NASA/Langley
Scientist
Larry.B.Petway@nasa.gov
Walter Payne Ph.D. 1984
   NASA/GSFC Deceased  
Ed Koker Ph.D. 1982   Elizabeth City State College Professor ebkoker@ecsu.edu
Reggie Galimore Graduate Student

USDA Reginald.N.Galimore@usda.gov
Constantine Beugre Ph.D.









Undergraduates





Samuel Francis Undergraduate 2007-9 Howard    
Tiffany Hall Undergraduate 2007-9 Howard    
Aminebueh Bello Undergaduate 2007-9 Howard    
Calvin Archibald
Undergraduate




Vernella Vickerman
B.ChemE 2003
2000-2003
MIT
Grad Studentq
vvickerman@MIT.edu
Obichi Ikechi
Undergraduate
2000



Alon Weir
Undergraduate
2000



Sterling Alfred BA 2000
1997-2000 UMass Amherst
Grad Student
salfred@polysci.umass.edu
Karen Pinnix Undergraduate

MD
Fabienne Newsome Undergraduate



Prince Amuzu-Williams Undergraduate



Craig Vaughn B.Eng.  1980-83   BP  Business Technology Manager

James Woods B.S.









Summer Students
From
Summer of
Went on to
Now at

Courtney Goode PGCC 2008 UMd College Park UMd College Park  
Tiffany Hall PGCC 2007-8 Howard Howard  
Michael Beyer

2001
UMBC
Graduated

Patrick Ymelle-leki

2001
UMBC
UMBC Graduate school

Tedric Campbell
Undergraduate
2000
Tougaloo
MGE Program
tedriccam@yahoo.com
Angelique Dunn Undergraduate Sum. 1997 Grambling Student
Lena House Undergraduate



T.J. Wheeler HS Summer Student    Hewlett-Packard  Engineer  






Joshua B. Halpern