Howard University
College of Arts and Sciences
Department of English
Home
Contact Us
Undergraduate   Graduate   Faculty & Staff    News & Events    Publications    Writing Center    About

Faculty & Staff

Staff

Williams, Dana A.
Chair
Professor of English*
Graduate faculty

d_williams@howard.edu

Contact Us

Howard University
Department of English
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Locke Hall, Room 248
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: 202-806-6730
Fax: 202-806-6708


View Larger Map

Hardy, Tanya
Administrative Assistant
thardy@howard.edu

Top

Faculty

Professors

Forbes, Curdella
Professor*
kim_ani2000@hotmail.com
214 Locke Hall
202-806-7756
Kamwangamalu, Nkonko
Professor*
nkamwangamalu@howard.edu
232 Locke Hall
202-806-7453

Medina, Tony
Professor
tmedina@howard.edu

112 Locke Hall
202-806-6770
Shannon, Sandra G.
Professor*

sshannon@howard.edu
230 Locke Hall
202-806-5443
Williams, Dana A.
Professor*

d_williams@howard.edu
246 Locke Hall
202-806-5371

Graduate Faculty

Top

Associate Professors

DeGout, Yasmin Y.
Associate Professor*
yasminhu@aol.com
212 Locke Hall
202-806-6730
Griffin, Barbara
Associate Professor*
bgriffin@howard.edu
202-806-5611
Hampton, Gregory
Associate Professor of English*
ghampton@howard.edu
212 Locke Hall
202-806-5611
Jones, Meta D.
Associate Professor
meta.jones@howard.edu
112 Locke Hall
202-806-6770
 

Keil, James
Associate Professor
jimkeil@verizon.net

220 Locke Hall
202-806-7749
 

Oh, Elisa
Associate Professor*
Eoh@howard.edu

218 Locke Hall
  Singer, Marc
Associate Professor*
msinger@howard.edu
206 Locke Hall
202-806-6773
Tovares, Alla V.
Associate Professor*
atovares@howard.edu
232 Locke Hall
202-806-7453

Graduate Faculty

Top

Assistant Professors

  Brown, Jarrett
Assistant Professor*
jarrett.brown@howard.edu
214 Locke Hall
202-806-4221
  Green, David
Assistant Professor*
david.f.green@howard.edu
270 Locke Hall
202-806-5611
 
  Kirlew, Shauna
Assistant Professor*
shauna.kirlew@howard.edu
356 Locke Hall
202-806-5215
  Kugler, Emily
Assistant Professor*
emily.kugler@howard.edu
218 Locke Hall
202-806-5470
  Reddy, Sheshalatha
Assistant Professor*
sheshalatha.reddy@howard.edu
206 Locke Hall
202-806-6773
  Shinn, Christopher
Assistant Professor*
cshinn@howard.edu
P-4 Locke Hall
202-806-6730
  Walker, Patricia Elan
Assistant Professor*
pelam@howard.edu
356 Locke Hall
202-806-5214
  Watson, Rachel
Assistant Professor*
rachel.watson@howard.edu
220 Locke Hall
202-806-7749

Graduate Faculty

Top

Lecturers/ Master Instructors

  Atkins, Shayla
shayla.m.atkins@howard.edu
265 Locke Hall
  Barksdale, Antoinette
blaire2004@comcast.net
202-806-6730
  Brown, Khalila
kcbrown@howard.edu
334 Founders
  Branch, Phill
phill.branch@howard.edu
225 Locke Hall
  Carthon, Adrienne
adrienne.carthon@gmail.com
221 Locke Hall
  Ellison, Kitty
Master Instructor
kittyellison@aol.com
221 Locke Hall
202-806-6353
  Fraser, Rhone
rhone.fraser@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
  Grathwol, Kathleen*
kathleen.grathwol@gmail.com
234 Locke Hall
202-806-5370
  Hampton, Cyrus
ca.w.hampton@gmail.com
265 Locke Hall
  Harrell, William
Master Instructor
wharrell@howard.edu
322/100 Locke Hall
202-806-4607/4100
  Henry, Lorraine
Master Instructor
lhenry@howard.edu
316 Locke Hall
202-806-6776
  Jones, Clinton
ccjones@howard.edu
202-806-6730
  Latchman, Renee
renee.latchman@howard.edu
322 Locke Hall
  Lamont, Corey
clamont@howard.edu
322 Locke Hall
  Mahadevan, Thennilapuram
Master Instructor
tmahadevan@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-6235
  Modestino, Kevin
kevin.modestino@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
  Noone, Patricia
Master Instructor
pnoone@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-6235
  Relerford, Jimisha
jimisha.relerford@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
  Sandosharaj, Alis*
sandosharaj@gmail.com
234 Locke Hall
202-806-5370
  Seifert, Nicholas
nicholas.seifert@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
  Thompson, Tyechia
tlthompson@bison.howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
  Walsh, Gertrude*
gertude.walsh@howard.edu
225 Locke Hall
202-865-0269 
  White, Yvette
ycwhite@howard.edu
322 Locke Hall
202-806-5218
  Winston, Dennis
dennis.winston@howard.edu
225 Locke Hall
202-865-0269
  Winter, Daria
dwinter@Howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-6235

ESL Faculty

Top

Professors Emerita

Arana, Victoria
Professor Emerita
rvarana@archeform.com

 
  Hawthorne, Evelyn J.
Professor Emerita
ehawthorne@howard.edu

Jordan, Jennifer
Professor Emerita
jjordon@howard.edu

Kelly, Ann Cline
Professor Emerita
akelly@howard.edu

Redd, Teresa
Professor Emerita
tredd@howard.edu

Traylor, Eleanor W.
Professor

etraylor@howard.edu

  Tsomondo, Thorell
Professor Emerita
ttsomondo@howard.edu

 

 

 
 

The Writing Center