Howard University College of Arts and Sciences
Department of Philosophy
Home About Undergraduate Faculty & Staff News Courses Contact Us
Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Joseph Asike

Joseph AsikeInterim Chair and Professor of Philosophy Research Interests: Philosophy of Science, African Philosophy, Philosophy of Culture
office: 228 Locke Hall 
phone: (202) 806-5472
email: jasike@howard.edu

Segun Gbadegesin

Segun GbadegesinInterim Dean, COAS and Professor of Philosophy 
Research interests: Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics, African Philosophy, Philosophy of Culture, Bioethics 
office: B-34 Locke Hall 
phone: (202) 806-5572 
email: sgbadegesin@howard.edu

Patrick Goodin

Patrick GoodinAssociate Professor of Philosophy
Research interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy, History of Philosophy, Africana Philosophy, African American Philosophy and Afro-Caribbean Philosophy
office: 534 Howard Center
phone: (202) 238-2380
email: pgoodin@howard.edu

Brandon Hogan

Brandon HoganAssistant Professor of Philosophy
Research interests: Philosophy of Law, Political Philosophy, Ethics, Later Wittgenstein
office: 529 Howard Center
phone: (202) 238-2371
email: brandon.hogan@howard.edu


Joel Ojelade

Joel OjeladeLecturer of Philosophy
Research interests: Philosophy of Religion and Philosophy of Culture, Critical Thinking
office: 333 Founders Library
phone: (202) 806-7954
emailjoojelade@howard.edu

Assya Pascalev

Assya PascalevAssociate Professor of Philosophy and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ethics Co-director, Regulatory and Ethics Knowledge and Support, Georgetown-Howard Universities Center for Clinical and Translational Science
Research interests: Moral Philosophy, Biomedical Ethics, Research Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, John Rawls, Aesthetics
office: B-10A Locke Hall
phone: (202) 865-0098
email: apascalev@howard.edu

Charles Verharen

Charles VerharenProfessor of Philosophy and Departmental Chairman of Graduate Studies
Research interests: Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Education, Analytical Philosophy 
office: 310 Locke Hall 
phone: (202) 806-6779
email: cverharen@howard.edu

^top

Staff

Helen C. Stinney

Helen StinneyAdministratrative Secretary
office: 226 Locke Hall 
phone: (202) 806-6811
fax: (202) 518-3347
email: helen.stinney@howard.edu

Address

Philosophy Department
226 Locke Hall
2400 4th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6811
Fax: (202) 518-3347

© COAS Howard University. All rights reserved. | 2441 Sixth Street NW, Washington, DC 20059 | (202) 806-6730 | Contact Us | WWW Disclaimer